My First Hackathon Experience

Hey folks, this is my very first blog, in this, I will be sharing learning and experience from my first hackathon participation.

It was an intra-college hackathon, as a layman, I was fortunate that we formed a team of 6 members as a prerequisite, and then came the proposal submission round.

Again to be honest, I was clueless about what to do next and how to proceed with the proposal and stuff, I was Team Leader so once you become a leader, the inner self tells you to take responsibility and implement.

With the help of teammates, we finally proposed by having some references and submitted our abstract.

Then by fortune, we got accepted to work on the problem statement.

Thus, It started, an Offline 24-Hour Hackathon On-Campus and the adrenaline rush was at its peak. The whole experience can't be described in words, but believe me, we enjoyed coding and fixing bugs in the application, many times I used to tease the teammates by saying 007 i.e 0 lines of code, 0 bugs fixed, 7 breaks.

To sum up, here are my key learnings from the hackathon -

  1. First and foremost form a team with good expertise in different domains.

  2. Understand the problem statement and reciprocate in a way you think about the problem and sketch a solution in your mind.

  3. Propose such that it perfectly describes your idea in a nutshell.

    PS:) Try to include a flowchart!

  4. Make a plan in your mind and always remember, it's all about how to distribute it as a team, in the end, it's all about team efforts.

  5. Don't try to accomplish every small use case, implement basic features then move ahead if time permits.

  6. Always ask for help and take feedback regularly and try to solve bugs efficiently with help of teammates.

  7. Take naps, believe me, your brain goes numb because you keep coding continuously for 24hrs or 36hrs, so a nap could help you out.

  8. Test your project regularly, keep a track of time and make a good README and Presentation.

In the end, it's more about learning than winning.

Hope you enjoyed spending your quality time reading my blog, If so, please consider to follow Bhavesh Upadhyay for more such content and stuffs.